Skip to content

The First 128 Words of “That Boy in the Shed”

January 19, 2010

I recently posted the first 136 words of my WIP on Steph Bowe’s site (to see what the heck I’m talking about, click), and I thought, why not post them here?

So, here’s the Prologue of That Boy in the Shed, slightly edited…

You’ve got to pee before you can zip up your pants.

That’s what my Nanna used to tell my mom when her family went camping and she couldn’t manage to pee in the wild. It’s a totally different experience out there, but one thing’s consistent – you’ve got to pee and even you can’t stop you.

The deal is: do it. You have to pee before you can go back to the campfire and the marshmallows. It’s all common sense in the long run.

Nanna’s advice is more priceless than it seems. It’s just a more relatable version of “get ‘er done.” Make it happen. Do your duty. Then, you can return to life.

I never had a duty. I never had to pee so badly. Until that summer.

That’s all the world will be seeing for a long while!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 9:12 PM

    I replied to you on my site. 🙂 I have a couple of links and suggestions for you, if you want to email me. regan(at)reganleigh(dot)com

  2. Val permalink
    January 21, 2010 5:08 PM

    Hey Madeleine–sorry for the delay in commenting! :\

    I have to admit, this is a very effective hook for the opening of a novel. (I assure you the first sentence took my inner Victorian lady very much by surprise. ( ; ) You certainly make an good point here, and then tie it in smoothly with the upcoming action. I like how you get down what looks to be a very significant part of the plot straight off, in the book’s first paragraphs, and in a brief, witty, seamless way. I say it’s quite well done. ( : Write on, my friend!

  3. January 21, 2010 12:12 AM

    I want to read more. 🙂 I think that was a great teaser. “I never had a duty. I never had to pee so badly. Until that summer.”

    Btw, I added you as a link on my blog. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by mine.

Leave a comment