Skip to content

Five Challenge: Hopes for YA in 2011

December 26, 2010

First, a reminder: I’m participating in Persnickety Snark’s Five Challenge. For the remainder of the year, I’ll post 5 books daily that were the greatest in whatever category. Today’s is 5 Hopes for YA in 2011.

  1. I hope that more people will do what I did back in January – “convert to the YA faith” – and quit considering it as inferior literature, instead seeing it as a source of nutrition for teens and adults. YA has changed people’s visions, inspired them, and taught them valuable lessons, all in a relatable and remarkably honest way. I simply hope that more people will realize this.
  2. I hope that YA literature will improve. Though I love it and write it – heck, I nearly live it – I do believe there’s room for improvement. There always is. We could use more books that, though not preachy, have an implied message. We could also use more books that are uplifting. Not to mention the fact that there are always audiences that need to be reached through specific channels that we have not gone through yet.
  3. I hope that YA will continue to thrive and prosper. The market has simply boomed. I’m so glad when I see the huge YA section at my library (at least in comparison to the other sections). I don’t really mind being the 322ned person with a hold on a book because the mere thought of 322 other people reading it is splendid. I love that my Borders has a beautiful YA section. I love that there are so many YA book blogs. And though it’s all so grand already, I like to think that this is only the beginning.
  4. I hope that young adult literature will affect people’s pasts, presents, and futures. I hope that it will continue to guide, strengthen, and empower teens. I hope that more and more inspiring and admirable characters will spring to life and teach lessons through the sheer force of their personalities and adventures.
  5. I hope that I’ll keep reading and writing YA, that it will continue to effect and brighten my life, and that I will be able to promote and support it… And I hope that my writer and blogger friends will do so, too.

What are your dreams for your favorite genre, whether it be YA or not?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 5:56 PM

    You make me proud, dearest. 😉

  2. December 27, 2010 12:29 AM

    Love your list, YA is for everyone. Embrace it!

  3. December 26, 2010 5:19 PM

    ooh, very nice list! I actually haven’t considered some of these, it’s true that the whole YA genre has been on the rise for a while, it would totally suck to see that stop, I hope it doesn’t too!
    Love number 4 too, and yes, start converting!! xD

Leave a Reply

