Skip to content

Why I Write

August 10, 2010

We all have those moments. The moments when you’re thinking: Why in the gosh darned world am I burning my eyeballs staring at this computer screen?

Well, first off: If you’re burning your eyeballs, you should probably dim the brightness, but I know what you mean.

It’s at times like those that we have to remind ourselves why we do this. Why we sit down and crank out words, even if it feels like we’re stuffing rat feces down our throats (although it usually isn’t that bad). We can say it’s because we want to be published or famous or a #1 New York Times Bestseller, and I’d be lying if I said that doesn’t all sound amazing. But there’s more to it. Because material things like that wouldn’t motivate you to keep going on a bad day. It simply isn’t fulfilling enough.

I write because it feels good – natural. It’s something that comes to me and brings with it a warmth, an excitement that spreads through my fingers, into the keyboard, and onto the Word document. I have troubles. Sometimes I just really don’t want to dedicate the time, and I always struggle to start at the beginning of the day, but once I get into the groove (and most often, I do), there’s no denying the fact that I’m meant for this. That writing is something that gives me pleasure, that lets me express myself, get to know people, and create lives. And that makes me happy. That makes me joyful.

I write because, although it certainly isn’t easy or uncomplicated, it’s worth the trouble. Those hours I spend on occasion completely engrossed in my book – those are worth the struggles. That little bit of pride I feel at cranking out a good, healthy, strong word count – it feels good. And I’m thinking: Even if I could give this up, even if I could try to forget what this feels like and spend my hours being a normal kid, why would I? Why would I when it would be harder to forget than keep going. And, honestly, what we do as writers is a good thing. Spreading stories, emotions, and people. Sending characters into the world that people will connect with, possible find a friend in. This is good. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – we’re giving readers more opportunities to love.

And why on earth would we try not to do that?

Because, mope around as we might, those of us who really love this know that giving it up would be more painful/frustrating/difficult than working at it. We know that this ability we have to weave words together, create people, and potentially make something beautiful, funny, and exciting is special. If you’re not taking advantage of this gift, you’re being ridiculous.

If we can do this and our lives give us the time, we should be. It’s only right that we should share what we can do with the world – because people like stories. People like finding friends in unexpected places. And most people like loving books and characters. People love to connect.

And we can give them that.

So, ultimately, I write because I know that I should, because deep-down I want to, and I can.

And why the heck shouldn’t I? It’s wonderful, this gift.

So, when you get right down to it: Why do you write?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. teadevotee permalink
    August 11, 2010 6:22 AM

    I write because I need to! Otherwise I think I might explode. Like you, because it feels natural – this is what I am here to do. Even if no one reads it!

    • August 11, 2010 1:17 PM

      I’ve had a few people mention exploding and dying. We really take this seriously, don’t we? ;D

Leave a Reply

