Skip to content

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater; Review

July 12, 2010

Title: Linger

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Published: July 20th, 2010 by Scholastic

Number of Pages: 383

Rating: 4/5

Review Sent to Scholastic*:

Linger, one thirds gripping, poetic, and lovable, will surpass Shiver fans’ expectations and hopes. Character development and voice are at their best, and the magnificent number of facets in the characters’ personalities shine beautifully under the light of a fantastic story. Maggie Stiefvater’s prose is poetically beautiful, weaving words into images that will mesmerize readers. Even more riveting than the first in the series, Linger left me pining for more. Fans and nonfans of Shiver alike are bound to be surprised.

Review:

I enjoyed Linger far more than Shiver. The voice of every character was amazing. I’m so thrilled that these books alternate between POVs because I couldn’t get enough of anyone! The moment Isabel’s segment was over, I was dying for more, but the moment the Grace’s was over, I was left yearning for more time with her. I feel that I got an immaculately clear view of these characters’ personalities.

In this sequel to Shiver, we’re propelled back into the wolf-related drama of Mercy Falls, Minnesota. After all the trouble Sam and Grace went through for him to hold onto his human skin, everything seems to be turned upside down. (It’s a sequel, remember?) While Sam struggles to rely on his cure, Grace finds herself struggling toward the same thing. Not to mention the fact that Grace’s parents have a new outlook on her relationship with Sam, and it’s far more foggy than the last.

Amidst this trouble, Cole emerges, adding a splash of trouble all his own. And Isabel, Queen of Composure, starts to lose her bearings.

Linger surprised me in so many ways. I couldn’t believe how much I grew to like and respect Isabel. She becomes more and more incredible throughout the novel, and I was glad to see that the spotlight shined on her story as often as it did on Sam and Grace’s.

Enter, Cole. Cole is one of the new werewolves that we “met” near the end of Shiver, and he plays a key role in this novel. His dark and dreary past doesn’t immediately recommend him as a great guy, but it’s clear simply by his voice that he’s a very misleading character in so many ways. It was enjoyable to be caught by surprise along with the other characters as he gradually revealed new bits of his personality. It was literally as though Maggie was pulling off a cloth and saying, “Ta-da!” I never knew precisely what to expect from him, which is intriguing, particularly when you’re reading from his POV. I loved feeling apprehensive when he was met with certain situations.

Grace and Sam are… well, Grace and Sam. Their characters develop less than Isabel’s and Cole’s. Actually, I haven’t counted, but I wouldn’t be surprised if a larger portion of the book was devoted to Isabel’s and Cole’s perspectives. This is very much their story – the beginning of it. Grace and Sam’s story is already in motion.

I’m going to step into spoiler territory: In this book, Grace’s parents find Sam with her at night and freak (understandably). There’s a huge fuss throughout the entire book due to this, and I have to say that I have mixed feelings concerning the way Grace handled the situation. Yes, Grace and Sam seem more like a married couple to me than nearly every YA couple I’ve read about, but the thing is: They’re not married. They’re really not. And that’s her parents’ argument. I also understand Grace’s side of things. However, when it came to the actual, verbal arguments with her parents, I thought Grace sounded immature and disrespectful. There were certainly better ways to deal with the situation.

Grace also had problems with her parents stepping into “parent mode” after being “roommates” for years. I really didn’t understand that argument. Sure, I think they should have paid more attention, but, honestly, they’re her parents. They have a right to step into parent mode when something calls for it. And they have the right to be listened to.

However, when the chaos began near the end of the book, I felt that her parents might have let loose a little. I mean, I wouldn’t let her sleep with him either, but couldn’t he watch TV with them in the house? It was the total Sam-Prevention-System that they had going that pushed Grace over-the-edge. In the end, I don’t know what I would’ve done (as the parent. If I were Grace, I wouldn’t have been sleeping with Sam at all anyway). It’s one doozy of a dilemma.

Exiting Spoiler Territory.

The end of Linger is a jaw-dropper. I can’t believe that I have to wait so long for more. Actually, I half-regret reading the ARC and prolonging the wait! I’m sure that everyone who reads this book will be left breathless, simply because the end screams of the unknown. So few of the problems are resolved. The last novel in the trilogy, Forever, is going to be phenomenal. I can sense it.

I recommend that people whose feelings for Shiver were mixed read Linger. I think it was better than the first book. The writing is top-notch, the characters are amazing, and the end will leave you tearing your brain apart with anticipation.

*Thanks for the ARC!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kayla permalink
    July 17, 2010 9:31 PM

    I agree with a lot in your review, especially when it comes to the development of Isabel’s character in Linger. She has had such a crucial role in the series so far and she has so much depth, that I sometimes see her (rather than Grace or Sam) as the lead character in this story. Almost her entire family has had some important role, and she is the one character you can see changing and developing even more as the story goes on. It’s amazing.

    *Possible spoilers*
    I must disagree with what you wrote about Grace’s parents. After leaving on her own so much and practically ignoring her, I really don’t think they had the right to play the parent card at all once the entire Sam and Grace situation happened. After their daughter has learned to become independent live her life apart from theirs, they think they can just all of a sudden become part of her life again like nothing ever happened? If she were younger, maybe, but seventeen is old enough to make responsible decisions. Whenever she tried to explain that to them, it did end up sounding immature, but only because none of the words she said would get through to her parents. They just automatically said she was overreacting.

    All and all, it was definitely a great read. Probably one of my favorites. I just don’t know if I can wait another year for Forever, especially with that ending!

  2. July 13, 2010 5:27 AM

    ooh, this book is seriously everywhere! i’m not really on the shiver-bandwagon yet, but i’m probably gonna read this one 🙂 I skipped the spoiler part, but the rest of your review is great!

Leave a Reply

