Skip to content

Award! And more about Madeleine… BEWARE

July 5, 2010

I love awards, don’t you? I’m so glad that Wordbird is enjoyed by you folks. Not to mention how wonderful it is to think that people I don’t even know are reading what I write. It’s fantastic. Thanks so much for reading! Speaking of which, I’m planning a giveaway to celebrate 10,000 blog views (thanks for what is only the second of many times I say that in this post!) and having written 100 posts! However, I don’t know what book to giveaway. Anything that has been published already would do. If you have any input, talk to me in the comments!

And… Thanks to Sarah Enni for passing me The Versatile Blogger award! I’m very grateful!

You might regret reading this post. At this particular moment, I don’t know what I’m going to list as the mandatory 7 things about yourself. I’d be nervous if I were you.

But… I’m going to go over-the-top. A friend of mine who just happens to have a spectacular blog (titled Holes in My Brain – how irresistible is that?), Audrey, tagged me to list 25 random things about myself.

So, below: 25 things about myself…

  1. I love TV. A lot. It’s mostly the characters that draw me. I can never resist the opportunity to find more people to love.
  2. I love avocado. And mushrooms. I eat mushrooms cooked, raw, everything.
  3. I don’t just read books. I collect them. Every book I read is added to my wishlist, and I hardly ever give books away.
  4. I currently own four copies of Anne of Green Gables and counting. Actually, I intend to buy these when I get my first book advance.
  5. I hate it when I say sorry and someone argues, “Why? It’s not your fault! Why should you be sorry?” I feel the urge to say, right now, that the definition of “sorry” clearly states that it can mean you feel sympathetic.
  6. My name is pronounced Mad-eh-lynn, not Mad-eh-line. I will be eternally grateful to my parents for this.
  7. I really enjoy reading out loud to people.
  8. I love to bake. Especially cakes.
  9. I can’t swim. Well, I can a little bit. Only enough to save my life under semi-dire circumstances. If we pass into totally-dire or utlra-dire, my dad will have to pull me along… or I’ll just be screwed.
  10. I hate math. I still work hard at it and do pretty well, but I hate it.
  11. I am a teenager, but, against all likelihood, I’d rather spend a day with my mom or dad than with friends. I become more clingy as I get older.
  12. My real goal, despite the fact that I always say “while in my teens”, is to be published or in the process of being published at 16. And, no, you didn’t just read that.
  13. I love a lot of people. And I love those people a lot.
  14. I’m like my bosom friend, Anne Shirley/Blythe, in that I’m usually ecstatic or simply happy, but I can plunge into the depths of despair in the blink of an eye. However, my mood usually returns to its pleasant state quickly.
  15. I love hugs. A lot. I hug my parents constantly. They get irritated when I stop them in their tracks, sometimes.
  16. I have two finches. One is an Owl Finch, and the other is a Red-Cheeked Cordon Bleu. They’re both girls and their names are Clove and Willow. I want to get a red finch soon and name her Cherry.
  17. I hate broccoli. Really.
  18. I go through moisturizer like my brother goes through waffles.
  19. I procrastinate like there’s no tomorrow. It’s so difficult to write with Twitter and email.
  20. I like to sprint, but I don’t really like jogging.
  21. I love the color green. Actually, the sweatshirt I’m wearing now is green.
  22. I own two pairs of moccasins. One is orange and the other is purple. I love brightly colored moccasins.
  23. If I had to eliminate one dessert from my life, and my options were ice cream or cake, I’d choose cake. Ice cream is simply too precious to me.
  24. I like gory movies. And scary ones. I laugh at the gore, though. I always watch this kind of movie with my dad because I need to grasp his arm tightly when I’m freaking out but determined to keep watching.
  25. I love 80’s music and 80’s movies. Go Fletch!

Those are so difficult! Anyway, it’s time for me to pass the award onward to 15 blogs I’ve recently discovered. However, you guys only need to list 7 things about yourselves, link back to my blog (I’m not being snobbish – it’s actually in the rules), and then list 15 blogs you’ve recently discovered and let the bloggers know.

And, because I haven’t recently discovered 15 blogs, I’m only going to list a couple.

Yeah, I’m not subscribed to as many blogs as most of you, but I love the few I’ve found recently! I recommend checking them out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 6:12 PM

    Hahaha, that’s fun!

    I totally relate to #3, #11 and #24, but definitely not #2, #9 or #10. I’ve been a swimmer since I was 3, and math is kinda my job. 🙂

    Gory movies are the best, especially the ones with the horrible effects from the 1980s. Laugh-fest!

    You should give someone that “sorry” retort someday. Let us know what the other person says!

Leave a Reply

