Skip to content

The Gettysburg Approach to Writing & Speaking Like a Professional by Philip Yaffe; Review

June 3, 2010

Title: The Gettysburg Approach to Writing & Speaking Like a Professional

Author: Philip Yaffe

Published: February 1, 2010 by INDI Publishing Group

Number of Pages: 275

Rating: 3/5

Quote:

People are fond of putting writing into categories – e.g. business writing, academic, commercial, political, scientific – as if they were fundamentally different from each other. They aren’t.

Good writing is good writing, whatever the context.

Review:

I was at a loss as to how to write this book review. How do you write a review of a book on writing like a professional without feeling an incredible worry that you won’t write like a professional? Consequently, to save myself from a load of stress, I’m simply going to post the official review I sent to the author (and thank you, Philip, for sending me a copy!):

Philip Yaffe’s The Gettysburg Approach to Writing & Speaking Like a Professional so clearly teaches the fundamental necessities of professional writing and speaking in an intelligible way that anyone could understand. He strips the layers off one by one and addresses every minuscule question he poses. Though I cannot honestly say I loved the book, I respect its depth and conciseness. The Gettysburg Approach to Writing & Speaking Like a Professional is a fantastic book for those who find themselves stumbling when confronted with those dastardly symbols we call words.

A few notes:

  • I was surprised by how interesting I found this book. I’m not much of a non-fiction reader. However, when writing is a subject, I’m game.
  • The book seemed too long to me. A near three hundred page book of this content became slightly tedious. I did read every appendix, though, and that added to the length of my read.
  • It’s evident that Mr. Yaffe understands and deeply cares about this subject, and it was wonderful to read with his enthusiasm seeping through the pages.

In blog news: I’m sorry I haven’t posted much this week. My last year of Middle School is wrapping up, and my teachers have decided to bombard us with work. I’m going to try to stockpile reviews and other posts to compensate for times like this. Ideally, I’ll have a post about chemistry ready for tomorrow!

I was incredibly pleased to see the wonderful response my last post received. It’s wonderful to speak your mind and not frighten people. I even got a positive tweet from an author!

I’ve been struggling to come up with decent post topics, and figured, why rely solely on my imagination? If you have any ideas or questions for posts, send me an email!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

