Skip to content

Wannabe Writers #15

May 8, 2010

Wannabe Writers is a fantastic weekly meme hosted by Sarah at Confessions of the Un-Published!

Where I am in the Writing Process: Still haven’t started editing. My mom and I will work on it the weekend of the 22nd. However, I did read my book this past week, and who woulda thunk it? I really liked it! It was so cheering to realize that, although this particular novel might not work out, due to a weak plot, I can write. Now, I’m dying to work on my projects with stronger plotlines. I truly believe that I can make something of them.

I began working on The Lemonites this past week. I love my plot for this one and am going to be discussing it with a friend soon. However, I probably won’t be working on it too deeply for about a year because Forbidden is next in the queue.

My Current Problems: As I said, I’m now fiddling with The Lemonites, and have realized that I have become wholeheartedly a plotter. I just can’t do much without one, or at least not for over 3,000 words. I’m in desperate need of Character Analyses, a synopsis actually written (it’s in my head at the moment), and, at the bare minimum, the scenes noted. You see, with That Boy in the Shed, I had a 7-step synopsis, and for each of those seven sections, I took stream-of-conciousness scene notes, such as 1) Janet and Joe meet up at Starbucks and discuss the back robbery and the slip-up (<– Not real). Typically, there were at least 10 of these (sometimes even 25) per section. That process alone didn’t take more than a few hours. After that, I took each of those notes and expanded them into one and half pages+ scene summaries. I might leave this next step out next time around because it’s the most time consuming, and I found that they were kind of hard to deal with. I kept having to switch windows to check up on exactly what I wanted to do. I had plotted in too much detail.

Speaking of switching windows: The very beginning of The Lemonites is a mix of a new story and the original spur-of-the-moment story I wrote with the main characters. I found that when writing it, I had to switch windows constantly, trying to quote myself. Luckily, my insanely wonderful parents are going to buy me a seperate monitor, and from then on I should be able to plot, write, and I’m sure edit more easily. I think having two screens will help incredibly with working with beta-read versions.

The Question this Week: Would you be disappointed if 5 years from now you still wrote [2500] words everyday and weren’t published? What then?

Oh, the horror! Yes, I would be disappointed!

To work so hard and reap so little awards, to have your hopes crushed time and time again. I suppose that, as a fourteen-year-old, five years feels a lot longer to me (consider: I was nine five years ago, which seems like centuries ago). However, that still only makes me 19, which is not bad at all. My goal, however, is to be in the process of publishing a book by the time I turn sixteen. I strive toward that goal diligently, but I know that there’s a chance that I will fail to meet it. What then?

More writing. More writing. More writing. Your chances of becoming published increase with every moment you practice/write.

Some rules apply to everything in life, and practice makes perfect [enough], is one of them. Not-so-great writers can become good ones, and good writers can become fabulous, as long as said writers work everyday, toil and struggle, to reach their goals. I believe that there’s always room for improvement, and if it’s taking you forever to publish (although five years is not forever), more practice is probably in demand.

However, we all know that perseverence in the querying area is also necessary. Perhaps you are a great writer and your novel has a stable plot, but the particular agent you query simply isn’t intrigued. Send more, by goodness, send one hundred more. Don’t give up until either you or the possibilities are exhausted. And meanwhile, keep writing.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 11:51 AM

    “I’m in desperate need of Character Analyses, a synopsis actually written (it’s in my head at the moment), and, at the bare minimum, the scenes noted. “

    I was a pantster for many years. I heard an interview with an author – can’t remember which one. She talked about how essential plotting was to her success as a prolific author. That made me want to give it a try. I was amazed at how much more productive I was when I plotted, even a little. Yet, I allow myself (or rather, my characters) the space to veer off course a bit when the occasion calls for it.

    I want to write 1,000 words today, but honestly, what I need to do is plot the remainder of the novel first. Then maybe I wouldn’t be struggling like I am right now with where my characters are going next.

  2. May 9, 2010 8:24 AM

    I am the worst plotter in the world and I agree I woulf=d be horrified if I wasn’t published in 5 years!

  3. May 9, 2010 7:19 AM

    Re: More writing. More writing. More writing. Your chances of becoming published increase with every moment you practice/write.

    I totally agree! And for some reason, I didn’t get this until way later.

  4. May 8, 2010 5:36 PM

    I greatly admire your determination and your plan for achieving your goals, but as someone who was 14 not *too* long ago…make sure and give yourself a break if you need it. Don’t forget to leave lots of time for life experiences and making memories. Those will come in handy while you’re writing later on. 🙂

    Okay, now that I’m off my “been there, done that” soapbox, wow, cool! Two monitors? That’s so awesome! I’m really impressed by all your plot preparation; I think if anyone could be published so young, it’s you. Also, great job recognizing that even though a particular story might not work, you’re still a good writer. That’s a wonderful thing to take with you. I’m glad things are working out!

  5. May 8, 2010 5:15 PM

    It’s funny, because at 31 years old, 5 years doesn’t seem like that long a time to me anymore, and I wouldn’t be disappointed at all not being published. I’ve been writing novels for 4 years now (and writing short stories ever since I was little) and while I haven’t been published, I know a lot more about writing novels and I know my quality of work is now at the publishable stage, which says a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

