Skip to content

Wannabe Writers # 10

April 8, 2010

Wannabe Writers is hosted by Sarah at Confessions of the Un-Published.

I know that I’ve been a terrible blogger this week, and I intend to create some sort of schedule over the weekend (four day weekend for me!). I’m liable to continue to slack despite the set times, so I’ll assign a handful of people the job of murdering me in cold blood if I don’t click the “Publish” button according to schedule. Alright, you say, back to Wannabe Writers!

Where I am in the Writing Process: I finished the first draft last Saturday! It actually came as a shock, because it was shorter than I intended it (just below 70,000 words). I looked at the scene I was writing at some point and it struck me: “Holy cow! I’m about to finish this thing!” And I did. It was wonderful. I printed the entire thing out on Sunday and it was nearly magical to feel it in my hands, so thick and bookish. Edits will begin in May, but for now, I’m taking a break. I might write a short story (around 3,500 words) because there’s this building around my town that has hypnotized me and would make for an awesome prompt.

My Current Problems: Working. I think I’m in a stupor – So much free time! I marvel at the thought that I felt I was stressed and needed more time in the day before I began writing seriously. Heck, I have ample time nowadays. It’s ridiculous. Writing gobbles up time like I eat pie.

Question this Week: How do you know when you’re good enough?

I’ve decided that “enough” is a silly word. I will never be good enough. I’ll always want to improve because there’s an endless amount of lessons to learn and new stories to write. There’s always something more. More to learn and, most importantly, more to achieve. There are literally infinite possibilities, always one more to grasp at and snuggle with.

On the other hand, I have goals that I want to meet. Naturally, I’ll come up with another one (or few) the moment I meet all I have on my list currently, but goals are fun. Intimidating, but fun.

And, yes, I’m a girl who wants to do it all. I have dreams of being an NYT bestseller and having enough money to build an Anne-of-Green-Gables-y home and keep up an Anne-of-Green-Gables-y (I actually use that term all the time) lifestyle.

Most importantly, I want the experience. I want to hold the Advanced Reader’s Copy of my book in my hand and see my name on the cover. I want to know that someone will read it. Someone I don’t know. It’s one heck of a thought, isn’t it?

It’s fantastic to be a writer.

P.S. You should really enter to win one of five copies of Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick. Really. You should. Click the heart –

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 9:08 AM

    Congratulations on the first draft!!

  2. April 10, 2010 4:14 PM

    First draft!?! Way to go!

  3. April 9, 2010 4:07 AM

    I want it all now….that’s the hard part. 😦

Leave a Reply

