Skip to content

Wannabe Writers #9

March 28, 2010

I’m totally in love with this Wannabe Writers meme. It’s fantastic and forces you to be honest with fellow writers and yourself, while giving you the opportunity to discuss problems, dreams, and solutions to said problems. If you’re feeling the itch to join and want a bit more info, head over to this post at Sarah’s Confessions of the Un-Published.

Where I am in the Writing Process: Well, as far as statistics go, I’m at 56,798 words. I’m also finished with Plot Point #2, leaving me with the Narrative and Dramatic Climaxs and the Denoument to go, all of which are pretty short. I haven’t met my 3,000 a day for ten days goal, but I’m not feeling too guilty. I was about to die. Either way, I should be finished with the first draft of That Boy in the Shed by April12th. I’m both nervous and excited. I can feel that I’m nearing the wrapping up stage. The combination of the Narrative Climax, the Dramatic Climax, and the Denouement make the conclusion.

My Current Problems: I’m still struggling with staying focused, but I have a feeling that I’ll always have that problem. My brain’s always teeming with ideas that are eager for attention. I’ll just have to work around them. As far as writing goes, I’m doing just as well as usual. Overall, there’s nothing much to report.

The Question this Week: Writing Romance? How to develop a relationship out of thin air and make it believable? (And not just lust.)

That’s key. Lust is boring. It’s animal instinct, not personal or even very emotional. It’s stellar if the boy or girl is attractive. When someone kisses the MC, it’s just fine if they want another one. It’s fine if their heart starts beating until they feel like it might bust.

Yet that’s not enough to make a real, intriguing relationship. There’s nothing really substantial to make all the emotional turmoil (which must be in the book, otherwise you’re missing plot) worthwhile. What qualities attract the MC – and the reader?

I think the most important key to writing a decent, not-too-corny romance is creating believable, dynamic characters. Both “lovers” must be equally human and interesting. Far too often, one (often the main) character is totally boring in comparison to the potential lover. In my opinion, this distracts the reader with thoughts about how totally sub-par that character is.

Also, I think that tension or emotional turmoil (as I put it before) is crucial to the plot and to interesting the reader. A romance, or any plot or subplot, that runs along without a hitch is usually boring. It won’t make for a page-turner.

I think that J. Kaye (over at 365 Days of Novel Writing) also had a good piece of advice: “My advice has been and always will be to study what has already been done. Find authors you like and study how they do it. That’s exactly what I do. And if I run across one I don’t like, I ask myself what is it I don’t like.”

Good stuff. If you want to see the rest of that post, or any other Wannabe Writers posts from this week, click.

Hope you all can smooth out your writing troubles and enjoy trudging along this week!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 11:22 PM

    *dances around for you* Yay! 🙂

  2. March 31, 2010 12:41 PM

    Wow. April 12th is right around the corner! Good luck ;o) That is some great stuff about love and emotion. You totally nailed it – that the MC has to be just as interesting as the love interest. I mean they’re the MC for a reason! Easier said than done huh? LOL Focus is my major issue too, [sarcasm font]oh and the writing part, nothing big… [/sarcasm font]

    Fabulous post!

  3. March 31, 2010 4:57 AM

    It sounds like your manuscript is going along well! April 12th, huh? Congrats!!

  4. March 30, 2010 2:30 PM

    I have trouble staying focused sometimes too with all the ideas swirling around in my head. Usually I’ll jot down the ideas with a little bit of detail to clear my brain before I write.

    Congrats on being almost done! That’s fantastic!

  5. March 30, 2010 10:54 AM

    Glad to see you joining in. Focus is a big issue for me as well because there are so many other things I want to work on. Congrats in advance on finished the first draft.

  6. porcelaine permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:42 AM

    I’m really glad you brought the human element into your response. My thoughts went along a similar line, but since I don’t write in that manner, I was a little uncertain. However, I think there’s room for both and the challenge is learning how to toe and cross the lines with panache. In terms of your progress, you’re doing great! I applaud your willingness to admit your propensity for distraction, trust me, I get it as well. But more than this, it’s the acceptance that I found admirable. When we’re tempted to craft ourselves in the image of what writers are versus who we are – we lose a lot in the process. Kudos to you for being different and making your unique way work. Good luck in the week ahead!

  7. March 29, 2010 4:02 AM

    Yes, staying focused is a huge deal for me. I admire the 3,000 words. I’m not there yet…I feel lucky to accomplish a thousand daily.

    Congrats on the 1st draft! That is fantastic. 🙂

  8. March 28, 2010 6:49 PM

    that’s true about lust being boring. If the reader isn’t emotionally attached then you have nothing.

    And staying focused is always hard for me too. (that and constantly editing) Ugh.

    No one said this would be easy.

Leave a Reply

