Skip to content

Wannabe Writers #8 (But #1 for me…)

March 21, 2010

I’ve found myself in dire need of really easy blog post ideas. I’m extremely proud of myself every time I click that “publish” button. Really. It’s ridiculous and makes the fact that I’m a lousy blogger even more evident. I’m going to try to write a review for The Lotus Eaters to post tomorrow, but I’ve been saying that for weeks and it’s beginning to lose its meaning. Honestly, though, I’ll try to post it. Well, I’ll try to write it first.

Anyway, I’ve been interested in participating in Wannabe Writers for awhile. Technically, we’re supposed to post on Saturdays, but I’ll try to come up with killer replies to redeem myself.

Wannabe Writers is hosted by Sarah over at Confessions of the Un-Published. If you’re interested in participating, click here. Or if you’re interested in looking at other people’s posts from this week, click here. Moving onto the questions for this week.

Where am I in the writing process: Well, my current word count is 42,910 and about to rise 1,500 once I’m finished with this blog post and write. I’m past the halfway point and intend to write around 24,000 words over the next week. Yes, it’s a mouthful and a stupid goal to make, but I think I can make it without killing myself or the laptop. And, if I do (if I do write 24,000 words, not if I do kill myself or trash my computer), I’ll only have a week left until my first draft is finished with. (Yahoo!)

My current problems: I’m not having any difficulties with the actual writing, which is the result of having everything planned beforehand, but I am having a few problems with 1) staying focused and 2) keeping heart. I know it’s likely that this book will be simply a practice run, and that’s okay. I never genuinely expected it to be amazing. It always hurts a little, though, to think that something you’ve worked hard on may never reach many people’s eyes. On the other hand, I’ve loved the process and will be grateful for the practice, I’m sure.

On the staying focused side of things: I’m thinking more and more about my next bookish idea – which is a good thing because the plot is far more intricate and complicated than the one I’m working with now. I have an entire world and species to create. You can’t take something like that lightly. There are so many opportunities for loose ends. My mom and I discussed the plot a bit yesterday and untangled some knots, but there’s still a lot of work to be done. This is going to be a book that requires a whole lot of post-it notes. I’m going to be purchasing an enormous pad of paper and markers soon so that I can make a creative mess of things. I’m really excited to get on with this next project but am trying to reign in my enthusiasm for the time being so that I can really finish (as in all the edits) That Boy in the Shed. It’s difficult, though, when I know that plotting this next project will take at least twice as much work.

The question this week: Dual narratives? Has anyone ever attempted to write a book where you have two Main Characters–switching voice with each alternating chapter? Likes/Dislikes on that? I just read Perfect Chemistry and loved how the author wrote like that. Any other good books out there like that? I think this is becoming more and more popular in YA.

I LOVE dual narratives (when they’re done well, of course). I think it’s fascinating to view things through multiple people’s eyes. The same story is morphed and skewed by their personalities and beliefs – everything that affects the character’s view of the world. Dual narratives also give the author leverage to reveal certain facts at the precise moment they want to.

On the other hand, I think dual narratives can go drastically wrong. Writers can spend more time deepening a specific character because they enjoy writing from their POV more. No one wants to read a story when a writer’s favoritism is evident. Storylines can also get tangled when you’ve got two+ POVs to deal with.

Typically, though, I love reading dual narratives. I’ve never really written a serious story with two POVs, but it’s something I’d definitely like to attempt in the future. I’ve got an idea sitting on the side burner that could be a possible dual narrative candidate. I’ll have to think over it a bit more while the idea simmers.

P.S. I think I’ll make another Wordle real quick to give you guys a little view into my WIP. (You can find a Wordle from January here.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 9:07 AM

    I love Wordles! I tried it with my almost-finished WIP and froze my computer. 😛

    I’m not a published author or anything, but I can see, from the standpoint of my WIP #2, that it’s already so much better than WIP #1. I’ve learned so much! It’s sad that it won’t be the one I see my name in print with, but maybe it’s helping me on that road just the same.

    As for your next project, I’m intrigued. Writing a whole new world sounds *hard*. Best of luck!

  2. March 22, 2010 8:35 PM

    Staying motivated and keeping heart is hard for me, too. But I’ve figured my weird self out enough to make it work.

    Y’all are going to think I’m strange (and I probably am). But I combat the What-Am-I-Writing-This-For? Blues by reading, watching or listening to something beautiful that inspires me.

    I actually do the BEST work and have the absolute most motivation after I’ve seen a really awesome movie. If I had to guess at why, I’d say that brilliance breeds curiosity and curiosity breeds inspiration. When I went to see Avatar, I was so floored by the brilliance of the story, I felt myself thinking, “I want to do that. I want to make someone feel like this after hearing (/reading) MY story.”

    I have no idea if everyone reacts the same way to witnessing awesome fiction in action, but for me, it’s like a shot of espresso right to the writing portion of my brain.

  3. March 22, 2010 1:19 PM

    I think this is my first time here. Nice blog! 🙂 I love the dual method too.

  4. March 21, 2010 4:38 PM

    Keeping heart is hard. I feel like giving up constantly and there is never a way to know if you’re moving in the right direction or if writing is something will ever happen for you. I guess you just have to keep going and hope for the best. I have a few quotes I like. “If you’re going to be thinking, you might as well think big.” or “Stop complaining; just work harder.” Those are ones I like–that keep me going but I’m sure there are ones that might work better for you.

    I also have this big desire to prove people wrong. Like my doubting husband.

    Whatever you can make work for you–use it.

    • March 21, 2010 4:42 PM

      I like that “Stop complaining; just work harder” quote. I think I need to make a quote collection some time and tack them onto the wall behind my desk (which desperately needs a cork board because it’s really just a collage of various papers and notes).

      Thanks for the advice! ( :

Leave a Reply

