Skip to content

I’d Never Realized…

November 11, 2009

I wrote this post over three days, so I’ve organized my sections.

November Ninth:

I have the day off of school today, and I intend to get an immense amount of work done on “my book”. I haven’t quite reached the actual writing stage yet and am still deep within the realms of an outline. I’ve zoomed through the past five days and have accomplished much. I created a Seven-Step Story Outline, complete with “The Hook”, “Plot Point #1”, “Mid-Point”, “Plot Point #2”, “Narrative Climax”, “Dramatic Climax”, and “Denouement” sections. I then created my step outlines. Yesterday, I began completing my plot outlines – another stream-of-consciousness, fluid process. I’d never realized how quick and powerful things can be when you run at them in a stream-of-consciousness sort of manner. It’s a miracle.

I’ve also been running around various writing-related or publishing-related websites. I browsed today through Agent Kristen’s blog, Pub Rants. I spent an hour or two looking over Steph Bowe’s blog the other day (see my previous post), and I’ve been spending time on the Writer’s Digest ForumsI’d never realized how unlimited the world of writing and the online resources are.

November Tenth:

I’ve also been studying (and simulataneously adoring) my issues of Writer’s Digest. I’d never realized I could become so enthralled in a magazine – and especially something so businesslike. When I recieve an issue in the mail, I’m filled with the same suspensful longing to consume each and every word that I feel when I’m intrigued by a thrilling novel. There’s promise in Writer’s Digest. There’s the promise of knowledge. I can safely assume I’m going to learn something – something I didn’t even know I was yearning to know, most of the time – within the next hour or less it takes me to speed-read through the issue. I’ve looked back on them countless times, especially when I’m in dire need of something I specifically remember being mentioned in an issue, but cannot seem to reach into the depths of my brain to yank it into the light. They’re fabulous.

November Eleventh:

Most importantly, I’d never realized how wonderful the sense of accomplishment is when you make progress daily. Every time I finish anything, whether it’s an outline of a scene or simply finding the train tracks I’m looking for on Google Earth, I’m simply propelled forward by my eagerness to finish more and more and more. It’s thrilling, and the excitement never wears off.

In addition, I’d never realized how diabolical procrastination is…

But, today, I won’t have the chance to procrastinate. It’s my mom’s birthday, and she has the day off because Veteran’s Day is a bank holiday. She and I are going to take my brother for a haircut, finally eat breakfast, and escape to Borders in an attempt to find a peaceful place to read The Wind in the Willows (this month’s bookclub book…. that needs to be read entirely by Friday at seven), and hopefully (I’m crossing my fingers) eat lunch at Panda Express – the ultimate place to get yummy Americanized and unauthentic Chinese food.

Have a beautiful day! I’d never realized how wonderful breakfast can sound when you’re starving…

Madeleine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 10:54 PM

    Panda Express sounds cute! Happy belated birthday to you mom too!

  2. Quimby permalink
    November 14, 2009 8:29 PM

    Just thought I’d drop in with a comment–haven’t done so in ages. Sorry. : \ As it happens I was just emailing you and I asked about your plotting methods. Your seven-step outline seems so wonderfully organized. I don’t know if I could fit any of my novels into those steps if I tried; they’re just so all over the place. Which could of course be one of the reasons for my writer’s block.

    I agree about the stream-of-consciousness approach, though. I feel I can’t really know what I’m going to write until I write it, yet I always insist on doing just that (maybe yet another reason for my writer’s block). But really, I’m just starting to realize that what you are saying here is completely right. Thinking about it usually doesn’t get you much of anywhere–sitting down and just writing is the way to go. You’ll write some things you won’t like; you’ll write some things which will have to contradict what you’ve previously written–but at least you will have written something. NaNoWriMo.org seemed like a good way for me to do this, but alas, as I was telling you, I couldn’t get into that this year. Maybe I should try using this method in plotting instead of actual writing; perhaps my perfectionism wouldn’t be quite as rampant there.

    -Quimby

    PS: Best wishes (though a little late) to your mom! : )

Leave a Reply

