Skip to content

New Authors Challenge 2010

November 1, 2009

New Authors Challenge

Ah… I renew my post as book blogger Madeleine. Yes, it seems an eternity since I last wrote to you all, but I have returned; with good intentions. My next move? To join another challenge. Jackie over at Literary Escapism is and has been hosting the New Authors Challenge. This challenge in particular interests me, as I’ve recently been wrestling with writing endeavours (and am proud to assert that I have been successful, so far), I’ve been yearning to discover some new authors. I’ve been lucky, in the past, to come across some incredible ones (i.e. Jamie Ford), and I earnestly hope my luck will last, and I’ll be able to at least slightly aid sweet little new authors!

Jackie writes:

The idea behind this is to find new authors that you’ve never tried before. They can be in your genre of choice or be brave and try something new. You never know what you’re going to like until you try it…

Here are the guidelines:

  1. The challenge will run from January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010.
  2. Since this is an author challenge, there is no restriction on choosing your novels. They can definitely be from other challenges. However, the authors must be new to you and, preferably from novels.  Anthologies are a great way to try someone new, but only a third of your new authors can be from anthologies.
  3. I want this to be an easy challenge, so you can pick to do either 15, 25 or 50 new authors.  It all depends on how fast you read and how adventurous you want to be.  For me, I’m trying another 50 new authors.  If you reach your goal halfway through the year, don’t stop.  Any new author you try can be added to Mr. Linky.  We all want to know about your new experience.
  4. After reading your new author, write your review and then come back here and add your link to Mr. Linky.  Make sure you include your name and the author.
  5. Bloggers or Non-Bloggers alike are welcome.

There you are! I intend to attempt to find 15 new authors, and I will add their names and books to a list as I discover/read them.

On another note, I’m planning on writing multiple reviews this week. October was an odd reading month. I originally began reading one book a day, which slowed with Her Fearful Symmetry, which ended up consuming four days. Afterwards, I embarked on the tedious approximately three-week journey that was The Woman in White, followed by Frankenstein, which I read finished (along with the New Moon Movie Guide) last night. We’ll see how November pans out! Good luck to all!

Madeleine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 9:56 PM

    Have fun, Madeleine!

  2. November 1, 2009 6:36 PM

    I’ll look forward to both your reviews and new authors. It took me three weeks to get through The Woman in White, too…longer than I usually spend on a book, but I still enjoyed it. November will be my month to finally get started on the Japanese Literature Challenge!

Leave a Reply

