Skip to content

My Author-Viewing Adventures!

October 5, 2009

I thought I’d let you all partake from a bit of my pent-up, ridiculously ardent excitement! I have a fabulously rich reading week ahead of me, fraught with books, bookish conversations and arguments, and, best of all, authors.

I’m hoping to read four books this upcoming week, make a giant Catching Fire cake for my Finer Things Book Club (which, it’s just occurred to me, I’ve neglected to tell you about. I’ll go into finer detail in a future post), which is on Friday, and I’m going to a book festival in my town–with authors! It’s a two day festival (the tenth through the eleventh), but I will only be attending on the tenth, as I have church and other more important things to consume my time on Sundays. The authors I’m eager to see are Scott Westerfeld (author of the Uglies series), Naseem Rakha (author of The Crying Tree, her debut), and Jamie Ford (author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet). I intend to write reviews for the two last books after I have attended the festival.

This is the first book festival I’ve ever been to, but I’m sure I will be buying tickets every year from here on out, as it’s an annual event. I’m excited out of my wits, and I’m certain I’m going to be completely, but pleasantly, overwhelmed. I’ve seen so many book bloggers mentioning thrilling festivals, and, honestly, I’ve been jealous. Here’s my opportunity!

In addition, I’m hoping to see Audrey Niffenegger, author of The Time Traveller’s Wife (which I have not read) and Her Fearful Symmetry (which I’m reading) in January. I’m enjoying her novel so far, apart from a few minor factors – but more on that in my soon-to-be-written review!

Madeleine

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 5:44 AM

    Sounds very exciting…can’t wait to hear more about it. I’m going with my book club to hear Khaled Hosseini speak tonight.

Leave a Reply

