Skip to content

Agh!

October 5, 2009

Now, don’t mistake this for a review. I’ll delete this when I actually manage to be composed enough to write one. This is certainly not well-thought out or rational. I thought I’d give you a clearer idea of Her Fearful Symmetry by expressing my emotions…

Oh. My. GOSH! I have never, in my entire life, been so amazingly freaked out.  This book is demented. Wonderful, but undoubtedly demented. It’s as though Audrey Niffenegger has shoved you off the swing on a playground and you’re the kid lying on the pile of bark dust with the wind knocked out of you – feeling helpless and abandoned. I’m surprised she had enough of her mental faculties in order to write the last sentence.

Read this book, but beware: It may land you in the loony bin…

Agh!

Madeleine

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 6:03 PM

    It’s well written, I’ll give it that – but not my cup of tea. Didn’t care for any of the characters, found the plot unnecessarily bizarre (and I loved TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE), and hated the ending. But people of course have different tastes – but this has sold very poorly (something like 39K copies at last count – most of us would be happy to sell 39K copies, but much better sales were anticipated: she did get a $4.8 million advance) so I’m afraid many folks are in my camp.

  2. October 12, 2009 2:50 PM

    I am reading this right now (page 125) and you have me very excited, because I was just thinking to myself that this might turn out very run of the mill based on how it’s going right now. Can’t wait to be freaked!!

  3. October 6, 2009 11:12 AM

    You can’t delete this! It’s quite compelling as a review. I’m two steps away rom putting my shoes on and running out to get a copy.

    • October 6, 2009 5:52 PM

      Haha. Yes. By the complete end (I posted this right before the end), my alarm had worn off slightly, but I can honestly say there was a moment there when I thought I was going to choke on my saliva and die. I was practically gasping.

  4. October 6, 2009 8:06 AM

    I’m with Violet, don’t delete this. You can write another, more comprehensive review, but definitley leave this.

  5. October 6, 2009 6:10 AM

    OMG…You really have my interest now!!! I do own this book, so I must read it soon 😉 Thanks

    • October 6, 2009 7:35 AM

      Haha, you’re welcome! I couldn’t go to sleep for an hour because my brain was fraught with images from the book! It’s, well, it’s insane!

  6. October 6, 2009 3:01 AM

    Aww…come on, don’t delete this 🙂

    I think you’ve actually done a great job of telling us how much you liked this book 🙂

Leave a Reply

