Skip to content

Library Loot

September 28, 2009

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg. Its purpose is to entice us to share our library findings. As I’ve hollered without restraint to the world that I find libraries irredeemably revolting. It’s an illness. An inconsiderate and unjustified prejudice embedded in my book-loving soul. I suppose I do respect libraries for their purpose on this earth – it’s simply the care taking of the books that harrows my soul – or the lack thereof. My real aversion of libraries was birthed from a miserable experience. I had, before then, simply disliked the feeling that the book that was held in my hands had passed through hands with no thoughtful love for the book, with no sense of book rights and book wrongs. You do not, for example, pick your nose and then proceed to discard your boogies on the creamy pages. That was the key to my terrible, heart-wrenching experience. I had checked out Prettiesby Scott Westerfeld (who I will be seeing soon at a book festival), eager to read through the series but not in possession of the money needed to purchase it. I had to resort to book-borrowing, and found nothing less than boogerson the pages of the book. My dad agreed that the lumps could pass for nothing else, and hastily, with an understanding expression, bought the book from Borders for me before we left for the beach. Hence my undying dislike for libraries and their dirtied contents.

 

Yet, what else can you do but borrow when you cannot buy? I, on a recent trip to Borders, found myself overwhelmed when I realized that I was in sore need of books… and there were about twenty books I was in sore need of, naturally. My mom, dear thing, bought An Assembly Such as This by Pamela Aiden for me (it was recommended by a friend of ours). I had to finish off the money I had been saving (had been being the key word. I’d been saving for what seemed like forever, although it was only a few months. I was having book buying withdrawals, what could I do?) buying Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. I had borrowed a copy from a friend of mine, but I was seeing Jamie Ford, the author, and wanted a copy of my own for him to sign. I did, however, spill many tears when I later realized that my book buying dreams for a trip to Canada, where I was hoping to unearth something special in Booktown (we’ll see), had been smothered and killed. Luckily, we’re not leaving until right before Thanksgiving, and I still have time to scrape a little something up.

 

Now, onto the library business. A few days later, when I finally had the courage to slip my mom’s library card from within her purse (with her permission, of course), and log onto the library’s website, I set myself the task of putting a hold on a mound of books – ten, to be exact; only a partial amount of the books on my mental wish list. Here they are:

 

1) The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

2) Say You’re One of Them by Uwem Akpan

3) Tender at the Bone by Ruth Reichs

4) Ruined by Paula Morris

5) Duty and Desire by Pamela Aiden

6) The Crying Tree by Naseem Rakha

7) Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

8,) A Separate Country by Robert Hicks

9) Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

10) Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

 

The list is lengthy, yet I feel as though there’s a hardcover book sized gap in my chest, as though the air is seeping through it like wind through the slit between a window paine and frame. I can hear it whistling mournfully. Alas, books will be books and money will be money. Of course, there’s always the thought that I will someday wake up and find myself fabulously rich with a Borders Rewards Card on my dresser. 

 

Good luck in all your bookish journeys. There’s something thrilling around every fictitious corner!  

Madeleine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 6:23 PM

    I laughed and laughed as I grew to understand your aversion to libraries. I LOVE, libraries, but for the “booger” reasons you mentioned, I only request newly released hardcovers, usually in advance of the pub date so that I am one of the very FIRST [eople to read the books. Since I do not have the “booger habit”, the person after me need not worry…LOL

    • September 29, 2009 6:26 PM

      Lol, yeah, I’m a bit harsh – but that shows that I’m honest, right?

      You like libraries? Well, more power to ya’!

Leave a Reply

