Skip to content

Reading Meme

September 16, 2009

To those like my mom: Yes, I did mean meme. (-:

In honor of BBAW (Book Blogger Appreciation Week), I am posting this last minute review of my reading habits. The goal: reply with brevity. Oh, goodness, let’s hope so.

 

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

I always do. To be more specific, I read while I eat. I read while I walk. I read while I talk. I read while others talk.
Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

I’ve considered writing in my books. In my opinion, it might add a more personal touch. Still, my inner, sacred love for books prohibits my writing in the margins. I revert to post-its instead.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears?

To be honest, I don’t need to. My memory’s superb. All the same, I prefer to use a bookmark–typically whatever’s nearest–a torn piece of paper, a hand-out from school, a receipt, etc.
Laying the book flat open?

I’ve read so many people scream, “The horror!” when they came across this section, yet I do this constantly. Certainly, the bindings are looking sorely in need of repair, but I consider that the sign of a well beloved book.
Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

If I read more than ten non-fiction books in the next ten years, I’ll eat my shoes. Needless to say, I prefer fiction.

Hard copy or audiobooks?

Hard copy without a doubt. Audio books are tolerable, but the varying voices (most of which get on my nerves) dampen and mute the personality of the characters so much that I’m nearly distracted. Hard copies are magnificent.
Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

I always try to reach a designated stopping point, such as a break in the text or a chapter, but I’m typically forced to drop books so quickly and without warning that I don’t have the chance to, unfortunately.
If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

Unless it impedes the flow of the reading, I typically use context clues. Occasionally, I don’t even realize I’ve come across a word that’s unfamiliar to me. My eyes and brain skim right over it. If a word does, however, cause the sentence to become completely useless, I’ll look it up in a dictionary (preferably a digital one).
What are you currently reading?

Shirley by Charlotte Bronte… still.
What is the last book you bought?

Haha, Shirley by Charlotte Bronte. Allowance doesn’t help much when you want a new book every day.
Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

I, typically, read one. At times, I’ll be reading a book on my own and simultaneously reading one aloud to my mom. (Presently, I’m reading Shirley to myself and Catching Fire to my mom.)
Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read? 

The porch swing, the living room, my bookish room, etc. All of these places are acceptable–although my dream house does have within it a very beautiful library… ( :
Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

I would rather read stand alone books, although I have read many series.
Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows are on my list of top five. I have recommended these to many.
How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

I organize my books by author. I have a surprisingly large amount of books for someone my age. I could talk further, but I’ll simply save my story for another post. Brevity is supremacy!

 

And yet, brevity flew out the window a long time ago. Thanks for putting up with my lengthier-than-should-have-been replies! I decided to join in on the meme fun once I realized how much I was enjoying reading other people’s posts!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 1, 2009 10:05 PM

    I need to say this each time I read your posts. I love the way that you work your words. I love you, so much my honey!

  2. September 24, 2009 7:44 AM

    I generally read one book at a time, too. I just can’t keep up with a bunch of plots!

    • September 24, 2009 3:36 PM

      I’ve just started reading “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” (by James Ford), although I have yet to finish “Shirely”. It was moving so slowly that I couldn’t read it exclusively. Luckily, the plotlines are entirely different, so they’re easy to distinguish in my mind!

  3. September 23, 2009 7:04 PM

    I also try to figure out meaning from context. I like your idea of using a digital dictionary – someone else suggested a cellphone-based resource. I may make a note of unknown words, but I rarely follow through and look them up!

    • September 24, 2009 6:50 AM

      The digital dictionary is really wonderful. I finally convinced my mom to buy one from Borders and I have cherished it! It’s especially handy because, in the event that you mispell the word (unless you still have the book open, in which case you have no business mispelling the word), the little brilliant device will correct you. Plus, there’s a really fun hangman game on mine. ( :

      Thanks for stopping by, Dawn!

  4. September 21, 2009 1:05 PM

    It’s such a great gift that your superb memory serves as a bookmark! I think that I usually read to the end of a chapter or a section helps remember as well. 🙂

    • September 21, 2009 3:45 PM

      Thanks so much for visiting, Matt! Your blog is amazing!
      Haha, yes, my memory’s a blessing, yet I’m sure I’ll lose it in the future! If you examined my mom’s memory, you would realize why I have so little hope! ( :

  5. September 20, 2009 4:49 AM

    Hi Madeleine,
    For being one of my ‘new discoveries’, I gave your blog an award…
    http://lakesidemusing.blogspot.com/2009/09/tss-sigh-of-relief-and-some-awards.html

    • September 20, 2009 2:31 PM

      Thank you so much, JoAnn. I never expected to see something like that so soon! Your (and Dolce Bellezza’s, of course) blog is wonderful. Yours are always the first I check. Thanks for helping me out in my first few weeks!

  6. Bellezza permalink
    September 19, 2009 12:32 PM

    I keep seeing Hunger Games as highly recommended; hmmm, I’ll have to look into that. In other areas, I loved your read as you eat comment.You’re a true bibliophile, my friend!

Leave a Reply

