Skip to content

ALERT: Information Overload

September 14, 2009

Now, this entire post may be bewildering to anyone who has never attempted inserting themselves into the book blogging world, but will undoubtedly be helpful to anyone who intends to make the effort at some point in their lives. Frankly: The world of book blogging is an insanely hectic world of sublime serenity. And yes, I am aware of how ridiculously contradictory that sentence was.

 

Yet, it’s true. I have never been so overwhelmed in my life. New school years, new teachers, terrifyingly crucial school projects of massive size, unreachable deadlines–nothing I have encountered in my meager number of years in this world have prepared me for the cordial war of book blogging. Now, don’t take my word usage badly. Nothing you’ll find in this BBW (Book Blogging World) need be taken with a spoonful of sugar. I mean war in the sense that the thoughts centered specifically on book blogging and those that focus on every other thing in your life actually manage to have an even-sided battle for the spotlight in your mind. I could hardly think of anything else during the idle moments at school today, and then, having reached home and opened my laptop, I am immediately bombarded with dozens and dozens of links to blogs in honor of BBAW (Book Blog Appreciation Week). Boy, did I pick the most insensible time to begin! I begin blogging, an innocent little girl, with one view in mind, to enjoy myself, and I’m suddenly hastily clicking from blog to blog to “meet” fellow book connoisseurs. Now, I’ll admit that this was the ideal time to make friends, but, along with the people blogging, you have the blogging content to read, the comments to write, the links to post, the blogging style in general and the blogging ins and outs to observe. It’s preposterous.

 

And, suddenly, red, urgent letters are flashing in my brain: ALERT: Information Overload

 

Oh, save me, some BB guru. I am in need of your astute advice and experienced guidance. Save me from this beautiful fiasco.

 

I love this, yet I can’t seem to steady my beating heart, nor can I keep my hands from pounding my pitiful keyboard. Wish me luck on my journey, and, perhaps, I’ll have the honor of overwhelming some poor little newbie someday with my remarkable proficiency.

 

Madeleine

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 3:37 PM

    BBAW is overwhelming even to those of us who have been blogging for a little while. There won’t be near as many posts to read once it’s over. Just relax, enjoy and do what you can.

  2. September 15, 2009 7:51 AM

    I was just saying on another blog, I’m beginning to feel overwhelmed by BBAW, and I am fearing I will miss some great blogs in the process 😦

    I’m glad I discovered you 🙂

    • September 15, 2009 5:42 PM

      I’m glad you discovered this as well! I’ll be sure to check out your blog soon…. as in now (thank goodness for new tabs)! I, obviously, completely understand your situation. Not to mention the fact that, though I know everyone is welcoming and cordial, I’m slightly intimidated by the more prestigious bloggers. Not only are they more comfortable, but they’re all older than I am. It’s like trying to interrupt a group of adults’ conversations to speak your own mind. Every time I comment, I copy my words into a Word document for a quick spell-check. I’m not the worst of spellers, but everyone makes humiliating errors at times! Thanks again!

  3. September 15, 2009 5:42 AM

    You don’t have to try to read every blog, even those of us who are established can’t do that, so don’t worry. Just read what you can, what won’t stress you out, and then turn off the computer and go read!

  4. September 15, 2009 4:41 AM

    LOL! This IS an especially overwhelming time to begin…just relax and enjoy. Don’t try to click every link or read every blog. You can spend as much or as little time at this as you’d like. Just remember, school must come first (can you tell I have teenage daughters?) 😉

    • September 15, 2009 5:48 PM

      Devourer of Books: I understand, and I agree. I’m falling shamefully behind in my reading of “Shirley”. School only allows so much time for reading. One especially enjoyable thing in reading book reviews on blogs is observing the way different people choose to review. I’m making a few changes to my process. Thank you for replying!

      JoAnn: It sure is! My rational mind tells me that the idea of clicking every link is ridiculous, yet my irrational mind tells me I must. Yes, I know school must come first. I am proud to say that all my homework has been in on time and done well [enough]. Coloring things gets on my nerves a bit, but it must be done! Haha, yes, I read a post of yours that mentioned your daughters. I wish them luck in their school year!

Leave a Reply

