Skip to content

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins; Review

September 1, 2009

Catching Fire

5/5

I recieved an Advanced Reader’s Copy for being a runner-up in a writing contest, but I didn’t feel it was right to post a review until the book was selling–today. Here goes…

 

While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catching Fire a special home on my bookshelf. Catching Fire is most definitely the best YA novel to present itself to me in years. The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane. Quite frankly, I loved it.

Madeleine

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 9:40 PM

    I want to say – thank you for this!,

  2. Dominnique permalink
    September 15, 2009 4:12 PM

    Oh Madeleine you have a way with words (The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane.) That was my favorite part! How do you come with these things?

    • September 15, 2009 5:38 PM

      Lol! I wrote this in my head before falling asleep the other night. Thanks for finally checking this out, Dominique! I didn’t even have to remind you a fourth time!

  3. September 15, 2009 5:45 AM

    Best YA I’ve read, yes; shoved me out of a plane, yes.

  4. September 7, 2009 4:01 PM

    i stayed up until after 2 am this morning to read it–i couldn’t put it down even though the words were starting to blur together. i have to say i like this one better than the first one. and now the wait begins for round 3.

    • madeleine95 permalink*
      September 7, 2009 4:41 PM

      Yeah. I don’t remember if I told you, but I read it out loud for 14 hours (nearly straight). Juju and Dominique were thankful. ( : It was a blast because we could discuss it as we went along. Unfortunately, I’m not sure my family got very much sleep that night–as we couldn’t help screaming, crying, or laughing at times.

  5. juju permalink
    September 6, 2009 9:46 PM

    YES! I AGREE! IT’S A MUST READ! TO DIE FOR! ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS IN THE WORLD AND IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT, YOU BETTER!!!

    Okay, now that I got that out of my system….

    BIRDIE, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WINNING IT AND READING IT OUT LOUD TO US EVEN THOUGH YOU PROBABLY WANTED TO JUST GO AHEAD AND READ IT ALL AND THANK YOU FOR THOSE 14 HOURS OF PUTTING US ON THE EDGE OF OUR SEATS AND FINALLY PUSHING US OUT OF THAT AIRPLANE!!!!!

    Okay, my system’s good now.

    ♥JUJ (WAIT A SECOND) juju

  6. Grandma Janet permalink
    September 2, 2009 2:38 PM

    Wow, I’m blown away by your amazingly well-expressed and well-written book review, Maddy girl! I’m also thrilled to finally be able to read some of your many writings and also very proud of you for loving reading so much and expressing yourself in your writings so beautifully!! I hope both will be lifelong loves of yours!

    Grandma Janet

  7. Ms. Thomas permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:46 AM

    Hi Madeleine! Great website. What was the writing contest? Did you already tell me about it? What did you write? Congratulations on writing a runner-up entry ! ! ! I’m looking forward to seeing everyone next week.

Leave a Reply

